Reference research
External reference data on a rotary total artificial heart that has been built and implanted, gathered so CardiaNova geometry and reliability inputs have something real to be compared against. Every value carries a source key.
Read this first. This page is a literature and patent search about a device built by another team. No hardware was tested and nothing here was measured by us. It supports comparison and sizing sanity checks only. No figure on this page is CardiaNova evidence, and none of it may support a clinical or regulatory statement. CardiaNova's own work remains design exploration. Quoting a BiVACOR number next to a CardiaNova number does not turn either into device evidence.
Before you use these numbers
Found by an internal consistency check on 10 September 2026. These are unresolved. They have not
been traced back to source, so each one may be a transcription error or a real property of the
source document. Do not move any of them into params.py until that is settled.
What did check out: central cavity diameter against right vane diameter is consistent with the stated radial gap, and both pressure and flow pairs are physically coherent, with higher head at lower flow on each side, which is the correct shape for a centrifugal pump curve. The patent and the bench paper agree with each other there rather than conflicting.
How to read this page
| Tag | Meaning | Weight |
|---|---|---|
| [PAPER] | Peer reviewed journal article or reviewed conference paper | Highest |
| [REG] | Regulatory public document, FDA summary of safety and effectiveness | High, but device specific and dated |
| [PATENT] | Granted patent, BiVACOR Inc as assignee | Authoritative as disclosure, but states claimed ranges, not one built part |
| [TEAM-MAG] | Magazine article written by the BiVACOR engineers themselves | Reliable for round numbers, no method section |
| [MFR] | Manufacturer website | Marketing register, use only where nothing better exists |
The patent numbers are the richest dimensional source available in public, written by Daniel Timms as inventor with BiVACOR Inc as assignee. But a patent deliberately claims wide ranges to protect scope. Where the patent says "between 45 mm and 55 mm; approximately 50 mm", treat 50 mm as the working value and the range as legal cover, not as a manufacturing tolerance.
What the device is
A rotary total artificial heart. A magnetically levitated dual sided rotor carries left vanes on one face and right vanes on the other, in a single cavity divided into a left and a right pump chamber [PAPER-1][PAPER-4]. No valves, no diaphragms, no mechanical bearings [MFR-1]. Left and right output balance is set by moving the rotor axially, which changes the relative efficiency of the two vane sets in inverse relationship [PAPER-1].
Part 1
The closest thing to a published LVAD-scale centrifugal geometry from a device that has been implanted in a person. All values [PATENT-1][PATENT-2].
| Parameter | Value | Claimed range |
|---|---|---|
| Outer vane diameter | approx 50 mm | 45 to 55 mm, or 48 to 52 mm; both filings list both brackets |
| Primary vane inner diameter | approx 25 to 30 mm | 25 to 35 mm |
| Secondary vane inner diameter | approx 35 mm | 30 to 40 mm |
| Vane height | approx 2 mm | 1.5 to 3 mm |
| Primary vane outer thickness | approx 7.5 mm | 6 to 15 mm |
| Vane inlet angle | approx 84 deg | 82 to 86 deg |
| Vane outlet angle | approx 40 deg | 30 to 50 deg |
| Volute base circle diameter | approx 60 mm | 54 to 64 mm |
| Volute outer wall diameter | approx 71 mm | 65 to 76 mm |
| Outlet throat area | approx 140 to 150 mm sq | 60 to 250 mm sq |
| Outlet aspect ratio, width to height | approx 1.4 : 1 | 1:2 to 2:1 |
| Cutwater angle | approx 45 deg | 40 to 45 deg |
| Vane passage minimum flow area | min 150 mm sq | 120 to 300 mm sq |
| Pressure rise at 6 L/min | approx 80 mmHg | 60 to 100 mmHg |
| Axial sensitivity | 200 um axial shift changes flow by at least 2 L/min, or head by at least 40 mmHg |
Note the left vane height of about 2 mm against the right vane height of about 17.5 mm. That ratio is the whole trick of the device: the same rotation speed has to produce roughly 80 mmHg on the left and roughly 20 mmHg on the right, and the vane geometry, not the speed, carries that difference.
| Device | Pump envelope | Mass | Prime or displacement | Speed | Flow | Suspension |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HeartMate 3 | 69 mm dia x 30 mm high | 200 g | 50 cc prime | 2000 to 5500 rpm | up to 13 L/min | Fully active electromagnetic, self bearing motor |
| HeartWare HVAD | 50 mm dia | 145 g | 50 cc displacement | 2400 to 3200 rpm | up to 10 L/min | Passive magnetic plus hydrodynamic thrust |
| HeartMate II | 40 mm dia x 60 mm long | not stated | 63 mL | not stated | 3 to 10 L/min | Mechanical, blood immersed |
| CentriMag, external | not stated | not stated | 31 mL | up to 5000 rpm | up to 9.9 L/min | Magnetic, gaps over 0.6 mm |
The HeartMate 3 mass of 200 g in that source includes motor, inflow cannula, flexible recovery section, outflow graft, bend relief and all connecting hardware, so it is not a bare pump mass. Two further cautions. First, [PAPER-9] is a 2017 review describing "a recent design of the pump", which is a development configuration, not necessarily the approved commercial one. Second, its 13 L/min figure is higher than the up to 10 L/min quoted in the clinical literature [PAPER-11]. Where the two disagree, use 10 L/min and say which source you took it from. The FDA approval document for HeartMate 3, PMA P160054, approved 23 August 2017, contains a device description but gives no dimensions or masses at all [REG-2]. Do not cite it for geometry.
Part 2
| Parameter | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Outer diameter | approx 60 mm | [PAPER-1] |
| Height | approx 70 mm | [PAPER-1] |
| Mass | approx 650 g, described as slightly heavier than an adult human heart | [TEAM-MAG-1] |
| Housing material | Titanium | [TEAM-MAG-1][MFR-1] |
| Patient size limit | Body surface area over 1.4 m sq | [MFR-1] |
| External controller | approx 4 kg pack, two rechargeable batteries at about 5 h each | [TEAM-MAG-1] |
The 60 by 70 mm figure is from the magnetic bearing paper and is given as approximate. It is the only published overall envelope found. See finding 1 above before using it with the volute dimensions in Part 1.
| Parameter | Value | Claimed range |
|---|---|---|
| Outer vane diameter | approx 24 to 25 mm | 22 to 27 mm |
| Primary vane inner diameter | 16 mm | 14 to 18 mm |
| Secondary vane inner diameter | approx 19 mm | 18 to 20 mm |
| Vane height | approx 17.5 mm | 15 to 20 mm |
| Vane thickness | 1.5 mm | 0.75 to 2.5 mm |
| Vane edge fillet | 0.25 to 1.14 mm | |
| Vane inlet and outlet angles | approx 90 deg both | 80 to 100 deg |
| Outlet throat area | approx 150, 175 or 200 mm sq quoted | 130 to 250 mm sq |
| Outlet width | 8 to 12 mm | |
| Cutwater angle | approx 70 deg | 45 to 90 deg |
| Vane passage minimum flow area | min 650 mm sq | 500 to 1500 mm sq |
| Pressure rise at 6 L/min | approx 20 mmHg | 10 to 30 mmHg |
| Axial sensitivity | 200 um axial shift changes flow by 0.5 to 1.5 L/min, or head by at least 10 mmHg |
| Parameter | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Rotor height | approx 10 mm, 6 to 13 mm claimed | [PATENT-1][PATENT-2] |
| Inlet port diameter | approx 18 to 20 mm, 18 to 22 mm claimed | [PATENT-1][PATENT-2] |
| Central cavity diameter | approx 28 mm, 27 to 29 mm claimed | [PATENT-1][PATENT-2] |
| Rotor to cavity wall radial gap | approx 4 mm average | [PATENT-1][PATENT-2] |
| Axial gaps | 250 to 350 um, typically 300 um | [PATENT-2] |
| Clearance gaps in operation | at least 240 um during normal operation, falling to 100 um under extremes | [PAPER-4] |
| Clearance gaps, engineers' statement | at least 240 um in normal operation, over 20 times a red blood cell | [TEAM-MAG-1] |
| Motor air gap | 3.4 mm, described as very wide | [PAPER-1] |
| Shunt flow path area | approx 25 mm sq, 15 to 50 mm sq claimed | [PATENT-1][PATENT-2] |
| Minimum flow path cross section | at least 50 mm sq | [PATENT-1] |
| Volute maximum radial force | under 0.85 to 1.2 N | [PATENT-1][PATENT-2] |
The 240 um working clearance is the most transferable number in this set. It is the figure the BiVACOR team give as their hemocompatibility margin, and two independent sources agree on it. See finding 3 above for the tension with the patent axial gap.
All [PAPER-1] unless marked.
| Quantity | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Speed, stable levitated range in animal trial | 1800 to 2800 rpm | [PAPER-1] |
| Speed, as reported by the engineering team | 1600 to 2700 rpm | [TEAM-MAG-1] |
| Speed, continuous flow bench test point | 2400 plus or minus 100 rpm | [PAPER-4] |
| Speed, patent implantation protocol | 1000 to 1250 rpm at start, then approx 1800 rpm | [PATENT-1][PATENT-2] |
| Design flow range | 2 to 8 L/min, up to 12 L/min in exercise | [PATENT-1] |
| Flow claimed per side | over 12 L/min, marketing register, treat as a ceiling claim | [TEAM-MAG-1][MFR-1] |
| Bench hemocompatibility point | 5.0 plus or minus 0.2 L/min, left 100 plus or minus 4 mmHg, right 27 plus or minus 4 mmHg | [PAPER-4] |
| Off design bench points | 3.0 L/min low, 12.0 L/min high | [PAPER-5] |
| Pulsatile mode | speed modulation down to 1200 rpm, giving 40 to 80 mmHg pulse pressure | [PAPER-4] |
| Pulsatile mode, alternative | plus 900 rpm at 1 Hz | [PAPER-5] |
| Washout pulse | 700 rpm once per minute | [PAPER-4] |
| Blood volume in the device loop | 0.42 L total for both sides, approx 0.21 L per side. This is loop volume, not device priming volume. | [PAPER-4] |
| Flow sensitivity | 10 mmHg pressure change gives at least 2 L/min flow change | [PATENT-1][PATENT-2] |
| Hemolysis, normalised index | 0.004 plus or minus 0.003 g/100 L continuous and pulsatile, against 0.003 plus or minus 0.002 for the clinical reference pump | [PAPER-4] |
| Early in vitro result, 2008 concept | restored flow from 2 L/min pathological to 5 L/min, maximum left to right outflow differential 1.8 L/min | [PAPER-3] |
Multicentre fitting study, ten transplant patients, using a 1:1 titanium model with correct port configuration.
This study exists as a conference abstract and as a full paper, reporting slightly different measurements. The journal version is used here and the two are not mixed.
SynCardia CardioWest TAH-t, from the FDA approval document [REG-1]:
CARMAT Aeson, from a 2025 review [PAPER-7]:
Contrast worth carrying into our own work: SynCardia and Aeson buy pulsatility with displacement volume and valves, and pay for it in size and in wear parts. BiVACOR buys size and part count with a rotary pump, and has to synthesise pulsatility from speed modulation.
Gaps
These are the numbers wanted and not sourced. Do not fill them in from memory or from a diagram, and
do not let them into params.py without a source.
Two sources could not be retrieved and are worth a second try from a university network, since both are likely to close several of the gaps above: the QUT ePrints copies of Timms 2008 and of the Greatrex thesis, both of which returned HTTP 403, and the paywalled Springer chapters.
Sources
Full citations, with the source keys used throughout this page. The complete list, together with the
method and fact by fact provenance, is held in BIVACOR-REFERENCE.md and
BIVACOR-RESEARCH-REPORT.md, held in
~/cardianova/source(nont)/.
[PAPER-1] Kurita N, Timms D, Greatrex N, Kleinheyer M, Masuzawa T. Optimization design of magnetically suspended system for the BiVACOR total artificial heart. ISMB14, 14th International Symposium on Magnetic Bearings, Linz, Austria, 11 to 14 August 2014, pp 437 to 440.
[PAPER-2] Greatrex NA, Timms DL, Kurita N, Palmer EW, Masuzawa T. Axial magnetic bearing development for the BiVACOR rotary BiVAD/TAH. IEEE Trans Biomed Eng. 2010;57(3):714 to 721. doi:10.1109/TBME.2009.2033389. PMID 19822465.
[PAPER-3] Timms D, Fraser J, Hayne M, Dunning J, McNeil K, Pearcy M. The BiVACOR rotary biventricular assist device: concept and in vitro investigation. Artif Organs. 2008;32(10):816 to 819. doi:10.1111/j.1525-1594.2008.00633.x.
[PATENT-1] US 10,543,301 B2 and [PATENT-2] US 11,833,341 B2. Inventor Daniel Timms, assignee BiVACOR Inc.
[REG-1] FDA P030011, SynCardia CardioWest TAH-t. [REG-2] FDA PMA P160054, HeartMate 3, cited only as a negative result: it contains no dimensions.
Remaining keys, [PAPER-4] through [PAPER-13],
[TEAM-MAG-1] and [MFR-1], are listed in full in
BIVACOR-REFERENCE.md section 7.